ICOM PCR2500

The place to chat about using the BaseStation / SBS systems, ask questions, and to post any tips, tricks or stories about how you've used it. We'd also like to hear any suggestions you have for new functionality which we can add to the system.

Moderators: admin, KineticChris, KineticDavid, Moderators

Post Reply
DaveG
Posts: 223
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 4:18 pm
Location: Helston, Cornwall

ICOM PCR2500

Post by DaveG » September 22nd, 2006, 1:45 pm

Does BaseStation work with the ICOM PCR-2500 ?

User avatar
KineticWill
Posts: 1664
Joined: May 19th, 2005, 1:47 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: ICOM PCR2500

Post by KineticWill » September 25th, 2006, 8:50 am

DaveG wrote:Does BaseStation work with the ICOM PCR-2500 ?
For enquiries such as that, your best bet is to contact Martin Lynch and Sons.
Will Howliston, Kinetic Avionic Products Limited
Lead developer, Basestation software

User avatar
Mr Phil
Posts: 811
Joined: October 8th, 2006, 6:50 am
Location: Keighley West Yorkshire
Contact:

Post by Mr Phil » November 13th, 2006, 11:49 pm

Dear Will
Sir (grovel grovel)
I have an Icom PCR-1000 plugged into the SBS, I am using the latest software, its running fine (so far) erm I may sound a little stupid here, what do I have to do to get it to use the icom :( ,do I HAVE to read the manual :cry: I know that it has an IC-PCR-1000 in the interface library, have told it to use the sbs com port but nowt so far :cry: Am I REALY going to have to read the manual :cry: :cry:

yours sadly
Mr Phil

User avatar
Mr Phil
Posts: 811
Joined: October 8th, 2006, 6:50 am
Location: Keighley West Yorkshire
Contact:

Post by Mr Phil » November 14th, 2006, 12:03 am

Dear will
Sorry sir, a thousand appologies
Page 35 of the user manual states
Enabling the firmware ...
As bought, BaseStation does not have the capability to link to a radio (a.k.a. a scanner). To do this, you must purchase the radio interface option from your dealer. The dealer will then send you a firmware update package and a license code.
:oops: :oops: :cry: :cry:

I read the manual, Now how do I get the fimware update :cry:
ime gonna plug it back into my laptop now sorry to bother you sir ( humble pie eating begins)

Regards
Mr Phil

User avatar
bones
Posts: 9737
Joined: August 8th, 2005, 4:44 am
Location: Isle of Man
Contact:

Post by bones » November 14th, 2006, 4:59 am


User avatar
Mr Phil
Posts: 811
Joined: October 8th, 2006, 6:50 am
Location: Keighley West Yorkshire
Contact:

Post by Mr Phil » November 14th, 2006, 11:31 pm

Mr bones sir

Thank you
Short & sweet :wink:
Mega embaresed :oops:

Mr Phil

G0RMA
Posts: 113
Joined: June 20th, 2006, 1:01 pm

Re: ICOM PCR2500

Post by G0RMA » May 11th, 2007, 9:48 pm

DaveG wrote:Does BaseStation work with the ICOM PCR-2500 ?
Seemed a simple question, appropriate for a forum, what was the outcome, does it work?

:D

User avatar
Mr Phil
Posts: 811
Joined: October 8th, 2006, 6:50 am
Location: Keighley West Yorkshire
Contact:

Post by Mr Phil » May 13th, 2007, 9:30 pm

Welll
see the PCR-2500 has twin VFO's
that means it can listen on two frequencies , BUT the main thing
and it is a BUT it connects to the PC with USB. :evil:
and as we all know USB is Blimming :evil: so NO
it wont work with the base station at the mo , even thru a USB to rs232 adaptor.
Ive got a PCR-1000 and it plugs into the SBS-1's rs232 port
with the right lead and the firmware uprgrade
I can controll it from the basestation software.
but I dont wanna no more coz
it dont scan the frequencies I want to listen to :? :lol:
(wheew)
Rant Over..
Mr Phil
The Geek shall inherit the earth

M1PAC

User avatar
dogo
Posts: 248
Joined: November 13th, 2005, 11:17 am
Location: Ashford, Kent
Contact:

Post by dogo » May 14th, 2007, 9:23 am

Hi,

Mr Phil, I note your comments about the PCR-2500 being connected via the USB won’t work? may I ask as to why this is?

I have a Icom IC-7000 and that works fine with a USB-to-Serial converter. The only problem is that the base station can be a real pain in the bu! when I try to use another program to connect to the Radio, even with the Base Station shut down, it would seem that the Base Station application does not always cleanly shut the com ports down.

Of course I may of misread your message and completely got the wrong end of the stick for which I apologise now for.

Kind regards
Dogo

User avatar
Mr Phil
Posts: 811
Joined: October 8th, 2006, 6:50 am
Location: Keighley West Yorkshire
Contact:

Post by Mr Phil » May 14th, 2007, 6:55 pm

dogo wrote: Of course I may of misread your message and completely got the wrong end of the stick for which I apologise now for.

Kind regards
Dogo
No Its just that I have tried it with a 2500 and USB Is A PAIN .I settled for the older option , It works with the USB 2 serial
converters very well,coz I have 3 of em and I dont have no trouble with them, the 2500 is like its little brother 1500 , USB only, no rs232 plug on the rear, good for some Pain for base station, corse the bumf that comes with the base station says it works OK , but I dunno I had nowt but PAIN :evil: .the PCR-1000 was cheaper, :) but it dosnt go above 1300MHz ,the 2500 duz go up to 3GHz :cry:
I guess its a case of Whatever works for you eh!
Me simple , Me like simple fings, :wink: me fola KISS :wink:
Most kindest regards
mista fil
The Geek shall inherit the earth

M1PAC

neil
Posts: 15
Joined: October 1st, 2005, 12:21 am
Location: Manchester

Post by neil » June 9th, 2007, 4:00 pm

My 2500 works ok via USB so long as you identify the correct port settings.

The SBS1 and the 2500 share the same port setting. This means that you cannot operate both simultaneously.
The problem that I had was that the port number being used by 2500 was not an option in the drop down menu of the radio settings drop down options of the basestation radio setup (3-12)
I had to overwrite the port setting in the ini.file.
Then it worked fine.

Hope you can understand this.
(Believe me, pulling teeth is easier, its my job!)

Neil

:P

Post Reply